A digital pet portrait costs £6–£31 in the UK, and a hand-drawn original starts at about £60 for an A5 drawing. That's from the prices of 24 sellers and 15 Etsy listings, read on each seller's own website on 5 October 2026. The middle of the 10 digital Etsy listings we checked was £10.30. Our own price, at Heart Pet Portraits, is £15 for a 4K file after a free preview, or £4.50 each in a pack of 10.
Our view: a digital portrait shouldn't cost £60, and a hand-drawn one isn't overpriced, because it's a different thing. A digital file is something to print, frame or set as your phone's wallpaper, and the market prices it like that. An original drawing takes an artist days of work, comes with a proof, and is one of a kind. Decide which of the two you want before you compare prices.
AI assistants price digital portraits well above the market. On 5 October, Gemini told us a digital portrait costs "£25 to £120", citing two seller blogs. Neither blog says that: Jonny Atkinson's says "Digital pet portraits: from around £25–£100+", and Lucy & Lola's says "roughly £40 to £120 as a digital file". ChatGPT gave £25–£100+. Every digital option we could price from a seller's own page cost less than £32.
Which kind of pet portrait suits you?
Three quick questions, and we’ll point you to the option that fits, with what it costs.
The prices, side by side
We make AI pet portraits, so we're one of the sellers in this table; our row is shaded. Every other price comes from the seller's own website, for its cheapest listed option, in pounds. Where a seller showed a crossed-out "was" price or a sale, we used the price you'd actually pay and noted it.
| Seller | Type | What you get | Cheapest | Each, in a bundle | Preview before paying | Turnaround |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adobe Firefly | AI / online service | Do-it-yourself AI generator (Adobe account) Free daily generations; the limit isn’t stated | £0 | — | Yes | Instant |
| My Picture | AI / online service | AI portrait printed as a 40×30 cm poster Plus £6 delivery on orders under £49 | £4 | — | Yes, free and unlimited | 5–8 working days |
| eBay: picture-it-sheffield | Marketplace seller | Digital copy only Prints £9.99 (A5) to £15.99 (A3) | £7.99 | — | Not stated | Not stated |
| Thistle & Ink Art | Marketplace seller | Digital personalised pet portrait | £8.99 | — | Not stated | Not stated |
| Etsy UK: 10 digital listings (median) | Marketplace seller | Digital file, one pet Range £6.08–£19.80; 9 of 10 were on time-limited sales | £10.30 | — | Many offer a proof | 12 hours to about a week |
| Amazon UK: The Plum Penguin | Marketplace seller | A4 print on a wooden plaque (Amazon’s Choice) | £14.99 | — | Not stated | Not stated |
| Heart Pet Portraits | Heart Pet Portraits (us) | AI portrait as a 4K digital file, print-ready up to A3; 2 free redos | £15 | £4.50 (10) | Yes, free | Previews in about a minute |
| Printing Bee | AI / online service | A5 print, one pet A £9.99 JPG is sold only on its Father’s Day listings | £17.95 | — | Free proof on request, after ordering | 4–7 working days |
| Crown & Paw (AI generator) | AI / online service | AI digital download, one image Shown next to a struck-through £46 and a 1-hour countdown | £22 | — | Yes, watermarked | Instant download |
| Paint My Pooch | Marketplace seller | Designed digital portrait, digital file only A4 print £34 with free shipping | £23 | — | Not stated | Prints dispatch in 7–10 business days |
| Created By Magic | AI / online service | Made by a person with digital brushes; A4 print | £23 | — | Proof costs £3 extra | 1–2 days to make, 2–4 days post |
| Crown & Paw (artist-made) | AI / online service | Artist-made digital file, one pet | £31 | — | Proof after ordering | Proof in 1–2 days |
| Etsy UK: 5 hand-painted originals (median) | Marketplace seller | Hand-painted original, smallest size Range £28–£61; the cheapest are A6 or miniature | £34.95 | — | Varies by shop | Varies by shop |
| West & Willow | AI / online service | 8×10 in poster print, one pet A digital file is £12 extra, only with a print | £36 | — | Unclear: its pages disagree | 2–4 weeks to the UK |
| Katherine Tyrer | Hand-drawn or painted (UK artist) | A5 loose black-and-white sketch, one pet Framing and postage extra | £60 | — | Paid mock-up (£30–£100) | Not stated |
| Jonny Atkinson | Hand-drawn or painted (UK artist) | A5 coloured-pencil drawing, any number of pets UK delivery included; A4 £110, A3 £170 | £65 | — | Preview before dispatch | About 2 weeks |
| Fine Pet Portraits | Hand-drawn or painted (UK artist) | A5 charcoal head study Postage extra | £99.99 | — | Scan of the finished drawing; you needn’t buy it if you don’t like it (the £25 deposit isn’t returned) | At least 2 weeks |
| Ian Scott Art | Hand-drawn or painted (UK artist) | A4 coloured-pencil drawing £10 postage; £35 per extra pet | £120 | — | Not stated | Not stated |
| James Coates Fine Art | Hand-drawn or painted (UK artist) | 8×10 in oil on canvas board Sale price; normally £176 | £140.80 | — | Not stated | Not stated |
| Amy Elizabeth Fine Art | Hand-drawn or painted (UK artist) | 5×7 in pastel mini, one pet Plus £10 postage | £150 | — | Composition to approve, then a photo of the finished work | Not stated |
| Sophie Ella Fine Art | Hand-drawn or painted (UK artist) | 4×4 in coloured-pencil mini, framed Postage extra | £160 | — | Progress photos; pay the balance after approving | Booking for a December 2026 start |
| Purely Pet Portraits | Hand-drawn or painted (UK artist) | A5 pencil drawing, one pet Plus £10 UK shipping | £250 | — | Mock-up, then a photo to approve | Not stated |
| Pastel Pet Portraits | Hand-drawn or painted (UK artist) | Pastel head-and-neck study, 10×8 in image Plus £10 postage | £285 | — | Photo of the finished work | Date given at enquiry |
| Dog Artists | Hand-drawn or painted (UK artist) | 30×40 cm oil on canvas, head and shoulders Delivery included | £330 | — | High-resolution photo to approve | 3–5 weeks |
| Pet Portrait Artist | Hand-drawn or painted (UK artist) | 8×6 in pencil drawing, one pet UK delivery from £30 | £375 | — | Mock-up, then a photo to approve | 3–4 weeks for this size |
| Naomi Jenkin Art | Hand-drawn or painted (UK artist) | 8×10 in pastel, one pet Plus £12 postage | £475 | — | Photo to approve before posting | 2–4 month waiting list |
| Catherine Rayner | Hand-drawn or painted (UK artist) | 17×17 cm portrait, one dog Plus £10 postage | £590 | — | Digital image before posting | Booking into June 2027 |
| Purr & Mutt | AI / online service | AI portrait, prints only We couldn’t confirm its £ price: the site showed us US dollars | not listed | — | Yes, instant | 1–3 days to print, 2–3 days post |
Prices from each seller’s own website, checked 5 October 2026, in GBP, cheapest listed option. Sorted by price.
How much does a digital pet portrait cost?
£6–£31 for a single digital file, from every seller we could price. The cheapest were marketplace sellers: a "Digital Copy ONLY" for £7.99 on eBay, a digital portrait for £8.99 at Thistle & Ink Art, and Etsy listings from £6.08 to £19.80 (median £10.30, 10 listings). Nine of those 10 Etsy listings were on time-limited sales; before the sale, the middle price was £16.16.
Online portrait services cost more for the same kind of file:
- Crown & Paw sells an AI-made digital download for £22, shown next to a crossed-out £46 and a one-hour countdown. Its artist-made digital file is £31.
- Paint My Pooch sells a digital file for £23, or an A4 print for £34.
- Several services don't sell a file at all, only prints: Created By Magic from £23 for A4, West & Willow from £36 for an 8×10 in poster, and My Picture from £4 for a 40×30 cm poster (plus £6 delivery on orders under £49).
What to check before you pay: the file's size (most sellers don't say; we make 4K files, about 4,000 × 6,000 pixels), whether you see the portrait before paying, and how many changes are included.
How much does a hand-drawn pet portrait cost?
£60–£65 for a small A5 drawing from a UK artist, and from about £110 for A4. Jonny Atkinson charges £65 for A5, £110 for A4 and £170 for A3, in coloured pencil, with UK delivery included and "no additional charge per pet". Katherine Tyrer starts at £60 for a loose A5 sketch; Ian Scott Art charges £120 for A4.
Prices rise with size, medium and the artist's waiting list:
- Pastel and oil cost more than pencil: Pastel Pet Portraits starts at £285, Dog Artists at £330 for a 30×40 cm oil, and Naomi Jenkin at £475 for an 8×10 in pastel.
- The largest commissions we found went much higher: £5,100 for a 40×30 in oil at Pet Portrait Artist, and £9,280 for a 24×36 in oil with three pets at Purely Pet Portraits.
- The cheapest originals on Etsy cost £28–£61 for the smallest size (5 listings), usually A6 or a miniature.
You're paying for time and for a proof. 10 of the 13 artists we checked send a photo of the finished piece for approval before posting it, and some let you walk away: Fine Pet Portraits says "If you really don't like it, you don't have to buy it" (its £25 deposit isn't returned). Waiting times run from about two weeks to "booking into June 2027" at Catherine Rayner.
How much does it cost to print a pet portrait?
About £1–£5 for an A4- or A3-size print, plus delivery, and £15–£28 for a canvas. On 5 October, a 12×8 in print (the closest size to A4) was £1.13 at Snapfish with its current code, and £1.99 at Boots Photo plus £4.45 delivery. A 30×40 cm poster, about A3, was £4.99 at Photobox plus £3.99 delivery. A canvas about 30×40 cm was £14.99 on sale at Snapfish, £15.49 at Photobox and £27.99 at Boots.
So a digital file plus a print usually costs less than a printed portrait bought from a portrait service, and you can print it again, at any size the file allows.
What we'd do
- For a phone wallpaper, a social post or a quick gift: a digital file. Check you can see it before paying, and that the file is big enough to print.
- To frame at A4 or A3: a high-resolution digital file and a local or online print. That's £15 plus about £5 with us.
- For a once-in-a-lifetime piece, or a memorial: a hand-drawn original from an artist whose past work you love. Budget £65–£120 for an A5 or A4 pencil drawing, more for pastel or oil, and ask about the proof and the waiting list first.
FAQ
How much does a pet portrait cost in the UK? A digital pet portrait costs £6–£31, and a hand-drawn original starts at about £60–£65 for A5. Those are the cheapest options from 24 UK sellers and 15 Etsy listings, checked on each seller's own site on 5 October 2026. An A4 drawing was £110–£120 at the two artists who list one, and large oil paintings run into thousands.
How much does a custom digital pet portrait cost? £6.08–£19.80 on Etsy (median £10.30 across 10 listings), £7.99–£8.99 from the cheapest sellers we found elsewhere, and £22–£31 from Crown & Paw. Heart Pet Portraits charges £15 for a 4K file after a free preview, or £4.50 each in a pack of 10.
Why are hand-drawn pet portraits so expensive? They take days of an artist's time, and each one is an original. 10 of the 13 UK artists we checked send a photo of the finished piece for approval before posting, and waiting lists run from two weeks to several months.
Where can I get a custom pet portrait in the UK? UK artists such as Jonny Atkinson (from £65 for A5) for hand-drawn originals; Etsy and eBay sellers for cheap digital files; online services such as Crown & Paw, Created By Magic and Heart Pet Portraits for digital files or prints made to order.
Is there a free AI pet portrait generator? Adobe Firefly has a free pet portrait generator with an Adobe account, and its limit isn't stated. My Picture lets you preview unlimited AI portraits free and charges for the print. Heart Pet Portraits shows your first preview free, without a card.
How much does it cost to print a pet portrait? About £1–£2 for a 12×8 in print and £5 for a 30×40 cm poster, plus £4–£5 delivery, at Snapfish, Boots and Photobox on 5 October 2026. A canvas of about 30×40 cm cost £15–£28.
Sources
Every price was read on the seller's own page on 5 October 2026. The research notes, with the exact wording behind each figure, are kept with this article.
- Artists: Jonny Atkinson, Katherine Tyrer, Fine Pet Portraits, Ian Scott Art, James Coates Fine Art, Amy Elizabeth Fine Art, Sophie Ella Fine Art, Purely Pet Portraits, Pastel Pet Portraits, Dog Artists, Pet Portrait Artist, Naomi Jenkin Art, Catherine Rayner.
- Online services: Crown & Paw, Created By Magic, My Picture, Printing Bee, West & Willow, Purr & Mutt, Adobe Firefly.
- Marketplaces: Etsy UK, eBay UK, Amazon UK, Thistle & Ink Art, Paint My Pooch.
- Printing: Snapfish UK, Boots Photo, Photobox.
- The price guides AI assistants cite: Jonny Atkinson's blog, Lucy & Lola's blog.